Salt Lake DUI Attorney

scotch_keySave your license. Avoid jail. Don’t get convicted of DUI!

You’ve got a DUI, now what? Even if you were driving tipsy, don’t roll over and play dead! You need to fight back so you can save your license, keep your insurance rates low, and avoid jail. Come in for a free consultation where we’ll review your case and tell you:

  • Were you illegally stopped?
  • Did the police profile you?
  • What defenses do you have?

Kelly Ann is an experienced Salt Lake DUI Attorneys with the goal of getting you the best outcome possible for your DUI charge. If you’ve been charged with a DUI contact us today for a free consultation because:

  • We understand the science behind DUIs. We’ll challenge the cops’ methods of using field sobriety tests; whether the breathalyzer was accurate; and whether the cops used the machines in the right way.
  • We know the law behind DUIs. We’ll challenge the validity of your stop; whether you were profiled for just leaving a bar regardless of your actual driving; and did the cops’ properly tell you your rights.
  • We have the right attitude to fight your DUI. We care about you. We have great working relationships with prosecutors and judges but we still fight your DUI aggressively. If we have an opportunity to crush the government’s case, we’ll take it. We’re not afraid to ruffle some feathers when defending you.

Whether this is your first, second or … fifth DUI charge, we have the experience and knowledge to help you through your DUI case. At every stage of your DUI case, from driver’s license hearing, arraignment, disposition hearings, motion hearings, through a jury trial we have the knowledge, experience, and attitude to help you.

We understand the seriousness of a DUI conviction which could result in jail time, loss of driving privileges, and a permanent mark against your reputation. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you want a lawyer who aggressively and competently represents you through every stage of your case, from initial appearance to trial, to get you the best outcome possible.

FREE Consultation

Contact us for a free consultation, to meet with you and discuss your concerns confidentially without any charge to you.

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, call us today and schedule a FREE CONSULTATION. We will take the time to discuss how we can best help you defend your DUI charges, protect your driving privileges and protect your reputation.

Pick up the Phone and Call us today at 801-364-6666 or fill out the form to the right.

What is DUI in Utah?

In Utah, DUI (Driving Under the Influence) charges are very serious. Utah, unlike some states, issues work or occupational driving permits only after being violation free for 1 year. In Utah if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over .08%, you are Driving Under the Influence. Utah charges first and second DUIs a Class B misdemeanor. Subsequent DUIs are charged as felonies.

DUI Consequences

Criminal Penalties

Upon conviction, the court must sentence first time DUI offenders to:

  • 48 hours in jail, 48 hours of community service, or home confinement with an ankle monitor;
  • A fine of not less than $1295 (includes surcharge);
  • PRIME for Life class (Utah DUI class providers); and
  • A mandatory ignition interlock for 18 months.1 (an interlock prevents your car from starting until your breath is free from alcohol )

Driver’s License Penalties

Under Utah law, a first time DUI conviction results in a mandatory 120 day license suspension. Additionally, The Department of Public Safety will flag you as an “Alcohol Restricted Driver;” this flag shows up on your driver’s license. If you operate a vehicle with any alcohol in your system, the Department of Public Safety will revoke your license for one year and extend your Alcohol Restricted Driver status by three years.

Multiple Convictions/Additional Circumstances

In Utah, a second DUI conviction results in a  mandatory 2 year license suspension and a mandatory interlock for 36 months. A third DUI is charged as a 3rd degree felony, punishable by 0-5 years in a Utah state prison.

Utah criminal charges are more severe if the accused has a passenger under the age of 16 years, and under DUIs with injuries or a fatalities.

How “they” prosecute DUIs in Utah

Now you can know what the prosecution knows. Here is the Utah Prosecution Council’s DUI Prosecution Manual. At almost 400 pages and 5.5MBs, it’s big and scary but very detailed. For true research and information hounds only.

Pick up the Phone and Call us today at 801-364-6666 or fill out the form to the right.